Tourism Entrepreneurs to Form Bali Convention Bureau after APEC


Tourism entrepreneurs in Bali province planned to establish an association called Bali Convention Bureau (BCB) following the implementation of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) summit in October this year.

Executive Director of Bali Hotel Association (BHA), Djinaldi Gosana made the remarks here, adding that the tourism stakeholders have been preparing such tourism bureau in effort to organize the meetings, incentives, conferences, and exhibitions (MICE).

There are around 10,000 Tourism entrepreneurs who are grouped in the BHA, Djinaldi said, adding that the APEC summit is scheduled to take place on October 5-7, 2013.

“Thus, an association with its focus is to manage the MICE is badly needed in a bid to raise the arrivals of high level tourists,” he said.

According to him, the APEC summit activities constitute good opportunities for the tourism entrepreneurs to promote the MICE facilities in the region in effort to lure more APEC delegation to hold other programs.

Apart from that, Indonesia during the 42nd APEC Tourism Working Group meeting held in last April proposed the establishment of tourist-friendly airport program to support connectivity in Asia and the Pacific, Chief of the Indonesian delegation I Gde Pitana said in Solo on Wednesday (May 24).

“The proposal received positive responses from representatives of APEC economies, the Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) and the World Tourism Organization,” Pitana noted.

Pitana stated Indonesia`s proposal in the Solo meeting is in line with this year`s focus theme about travel facilitation in an effort to accelerate and improve connectivity in the region.

Apart from proposing tourist-friendly airport program, Indonesia also emphasized the importance to ease off visa application for people traveling within APEC economies.

As an example, in Indonesia 50 percent of the total number of tourists coming to the country in 2012 were from APEC economies namely Singapore, Malaysia, Australia, China, Japan, South Korea, the United States, Chinese Taipei, the Philippines and Russia.

APEC is a forum for 21 Pacific Rim economies seeking to promote free trade and economic cooperation throughout the Asia-Pacific region.

It was established in 1989 in response to the growing interdependence of Asia-Pacific economies and the advent of regional trade blocs in other parts of the world.

APEC member economies are Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, the United States, and Viet Nam.

Filed under:

Leave a Reply