17 Subak in World Heritage Area Get Rp100 Million of Grant

Bali Government through budget allocations in 2014 will provide an additional grant of Rp100 million to 17 subak (Balinese traditional irrigation system) in Tabanan and Gianyar as the territory of the World Heritage (WBD).

All subak within the WBD, which became the UNESCO protected area, were deliberately given additional grants than other subak.

“The grant can be used for a variety of conservation and protection of the subak,” said Head of the Bali Provincial Cultural Ketut Suastika, in Denpasar on Friday.

He uttered, 17 Subak that deserve to gain the grant, 14 of them located in the area of Jatiluwih, Tabanan, and the remaining three are in Tampaksiring, Gianyar regency. Each subak get funds amounting to Rp100 million.

“We said additional grants as they are also get a grant of subak in general Rp30 million from the government of Bali that will also be given this year to 2,706 subak,” he said.

According Suastika, this fund can then be used for irrigation or for maintenance purposes of shrine in the subak area.

On the other hand, pertaining to the establishment of the management board of WBD, he said that it is still in process. To realize it, cooperation between the Ministry of Education and Culture (Kemendikbud), the government of Bali, and several districts on the island is needed.

“We do hope that the management of World Heritage area could be like the management of Borobudur temple. However we must still provide chance for creativity in the surrounding communities because they have very important role in its preservation,” said Suastika.

“The management board of WBD will be declared by the central government in the form of a presidential decree.

In Bali, there are four areas that have been designated by UNESCO as part of the World Heritage area, those are Catur Angga Batukaru (Tabanan), Taman Ayun temple (Badung regency), DAS Pakerisan (Gianyar) and Batur Ulundanu temple (Bangli).

Filed under:
Travel & Culture

Leave a Reply